top of page





Every member and every family has an assigned deacon advisor. Assignments are based according to the member's last name (noted in parenthesis below).  

They assist by:

•    Making monthly phone calls to members and visits during personal or family member hospitalization, sickness, and/or bereavement

•    Witnessing to unsaved family members

•    Helping members to fellowship with other members and families in the church

•    Helping members find ways to serve in the church using their talents, skills, and abilities

•    Praying for members and their families


Corinth is blessed to have a dedicated Board of Deacons.  Because the widows were overlooked in the daily ministration, the apostles asked the people to select seven (7) men of honest report and full of the Holy Ghost and wisdom. These seven men would be appointed to serve the people. Acts 6. Corinth is blessed to have such men.





Corinth Missionary Baptist Church was organized on April 18, 1889. The following brethren served as founding deacons in the organizing of Corinth: Deacon L.G. Harris, Deacon G. Evans, Deacon G.A. Henderson, Jr., Deacon E.W. Harris, Deacon Elix Phillips, Deacon B.F. Sanders, Deacon L. Perry, and Deacon Adams.

Also, the following brethren served as Deacons in the early years of Corinth. Deacon Bob Rose, Deacon Bill Sills, Deacon John Patrick, Deacon Larkin Harris, Deacon Robert Rome, Deacon Eafe Robinson, Deacon Mansfield Robinson, Deacon Robinson Bealdlon, Deacon Leonard Graves, Deacon Donald Hall, Deacon Charlie Jackson, Deacon Howard Sanders, Deacon John Hunt, Deacon Will Haynes, Deacon Will Terrell, Deacon Joe Henderson, and Deacon George Guinn.

Deacon Anderson Phillips Sr. was ordained in 1941 and Deacon A.B. Bolden was ordained in 1955 under the pastorate of Rev. B.Z. Daniels.  Deacons Bolden and Phillips were called from labor to reward on October 9, 2013 and December 14, 2013 respectfully.

Deacons Willie C. Tanks and Randall Smith were ordained in 1984 under the pastorate of Rev. H.C. Scales.  Deacon Randall Smith accepted his call into the ministry under the pastorate of Bishop Dr. William Davenport. Deacon Willie C. Tanks was called home from labor to reward on March 10, 2014.


The following Deacons were ordained under the pastorate of Bishop Dr. William Davenport:

  • Willie Ivey (later accepted his call into the ministry)

  • Willie Joe Baker

  • John Dennis (later accepted his call into the ministry)

  • Bennie Smith – ordained in 1996

  • Eugene Dorsey – ordained in 1996 (later moved membership to Knox Chapel BC in Social Circle)

  • Oscar Webb (joined CMBC on March 1, 1997 – re-ordained on March 29, 1998 – served as Chairman until January 2015)

  • Johnny McKibben

  • Osie Jackson

  • Charlie Davenport (deceased) January 2016)

  • Beve Parks

  • Drexwell Booker

  • Danny Smith – moved membership to St. Timothy Baptist Church in Athens, GA

  • Jimmie Phillips – (deceased February 26, 2010)

  • Robert Harris – ordained in 2001 (resigned from deacon board on July 2014 and asked to be placed back on Deacon board in 2016)

  • Tony Tolder – ordained in 2004

  • Ashley Henson – ordained in 2004

  • Frank Gipson – ordained on April 22, 2007 (presently serving as Chairman since January 2016)

  • Dwayne Anderson – ordained on April 22, 2007 (asked to be placed on inactive list (2014) – presently working with who is a minister at Rainbow Covenant in Covington)

  • Reginald Morgan – ordained in 2011

  • Quincy Gunn – ordained in 2011 - (deceased – July 8, 2014)

  • Anthony Bailey – ordained February 17, 2013

  • Ralph Gotel – ordained February 17, 2013

  • Arthur McGuire – ordained February 17, 2013

  • Elijah Wyatt – ordained February 17, 2013

  • Marion Robinson

  • Lee Davis – ordained on April 23, 2017 

bottom of page